Terminology: Controlled Airspace

Controlled airspace is airspace of defined dimensions within which ATC services are provided. The level of control varies with different classes of airspace.


Canadian Domestic Airspace has seven classifications (A, B, C, D, E, F, G). The application of any classification to an airspace structure determines the operating rules, the level of ATC service provided within the structure, and in some
instances, communications and equipment requirements.

Airspace classes A through E are controlled. Class F can be controlled or uncontrolled. Class G is always uncontrolled. Any airspace that is not designated is Class G airspace.

One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s